Run?! I Thought You Said Rum!

Part of the purpose of this blog is to not only share my story with you, but also to share some of the aspects of my training and weight loss that have been more successful for me. One of the biggest influences on my weight loss and my training as a whole has been running. It’s kind of funny actually, as I never saw myself as a runner and spent much of my time avoiding running at all costs. I realize that not everyone is a runner and to be honest, I had never been in the past. In fact I absolutely hated running and always dreaded having to do it.

I was pretty athletic in high school as I mentioned before, but running was absolutely my least favorite part of training for any sport. My sophomore year of high school my track and field coach (I threw shot put and discus) would make us run a mile before we could practice throwing and it was absolute torture. Doing the Couch to 5k program made me not only enjoy running, but crave it. On my off days of the program I would often go for long walks to get my steps in, and would struggle to go that slowly. For the first time in my entire life, I wanted to run and I looked forward to it.

But before I get ahead of myself, I should explain a little more about what made me change my opinion on running and decide to get into the Couch to 5k (C25K) program. My godmother, Suzanne, has been a huge inspiration to me throughout my weight loss journey. She went from being a totally awesome albeit slightly overweight mother of two, to a ridiculously kickass woman who runs marathons and competes in triathlons and trains pretty much year round. Anytime I would get down on myself or struggle with my eating and cardio I would reach out to her and she would send me words of wisdom or encouragement or just tell me aspect of her story. Suzanne had definitely encouraged me to pick up running along the way, but I had always resisted because I never enjoyed running. I decided around Thanksgiving that I would give the Couch to 5k a try, I saw a lot of success people had with it on reddit and various other sites dedicated to fitness, even for people who were more overweight that I was.

gm

May of 2015 at Disney with my godmother, right before I decided to start my fitness journey.

On black Friday, I went out and got myself a new pair of Nike running shoes and geared up to start C25K on December 1st. I decided I would take things slowly and not pressure myself to go too hard or run when I wasn’t feeling it. Suzanne made sure to stress to me that I needed to listen to my body and take it easy sometimes. When I started out, I felt so awful and out of shape the first workout was pretty tough even though I had been doing the elliptical for months. But by the end of week 1, I was doing alright and holding my own. The program is 8 weeks with 3 workouts each week in order to provide you with time to rest in between. I finished C25K in 8 weeks, didn’t skip any workouts, and I could not have felt more accomplished.

c25k

Day 1 of Couch to 5k and the final workout, notice how much better my mood is. 

After I finished the program, I took a couple of weeks to work on getting my speed up and build my endurance for a while. Three weeks into the speed workouts, I had to change-up my plan and started the Bridge to 10k program. Suzanne told me they had spots open for the Star Wars 10k at Disney in 8 weeks, which was something I had wanted to do earlier but the registration was closed. Luckily, The Bridge to 10k (B210K) was only 6 weeks which would give me time to build up to it before the race and have 2 extra weeks to fine tune. The situation could not have been more perfect if I tried. My training went pretty well, the time flew by and it was time to run my first 10k. I was so anxious/excited that I barely slept the night before and ran the race on about 2 hours of sleep, but I finished and ran almost the entire way. I finished in 1:22:33 and I could not have been more proud of myself (plus the medal was awesome).

10k

I had to keep reminding myself to keep it together and not cry as I crossed the finish line because this was going to be a picture I would always cherish. 

I took a few days off from running after my 10k, swearing that I wasn’t going to run for at least a week which did not end up happening. My first post-race run was good, I felt a sense of accomplishment for sure, but I also felt kind of empty because I no longer had a goal. After talking it over with Suzanne, and realizing I had plenty of time to train for it, I got signed up for the Disney Half Marathon next January. So yes, the girl who once hated running is now in training for a half marathon. I’m pretty excited for the race even though its months away, but I’m not going to lie I’m also really nervous. I mean its 13.1 miles! That’s a long way! So stick around for a while and watch me train for this half marathon, I’m sure it will be filled with fun anecdotes and lots of running.

gm2

Suzanne and I are nothing but smiles and pride, with my shiny new 10k medal.

Leave a Reply

