The Last Ten Pounds

As some of you may know, I’m nearing the end of my weight loss journey. I’ve lost 90 pounds in less than 15 months and I’m getting close to my goal weight, but being this close to the end of my journey the weight loss has become a real challenge. I’ve been bouncing back and forth between 176-174 for the last couple of weeks and it’s seriously driving me nuts. The craziest thing about it is that I’m eating under my calorie goal pretty much every day and working out 5-6 days a week and the scale just won’t budge.

2016-09-01 13.12.29

Just look at the smug line, taunting me that I can’t get below 174.

Over the course of my weight loss journey, I’ve hit plateaus before for a few weeks at a time but none of them have bothered me previously. I think this one is hitting me so hard because I’m finally closing in on 165, it’s so close I can taste it but every time the scale goes up or stays the same it gets further and further from my grasp. When I began this journey over a year ago, everyone told me how hard the last 10 pounds were going to be and I guess maybe I didn’t actually believe them because of how relatively easy the first 90 were. Don’t get me wrong, I definitely worked to lose the weight but it never really felt that hard to me. Maybe individual things were difficult, like running a 10k or teaching my body not to be hungry out of boredom between meals/snacks, but on the whole losing weight hasn’t been nearly as hard as I expected it to be. Once I got into the groove of tracking calories with MyFitnessPal and working out 5-6 days a week, it became a part of my routine and just a normal aspect of my life.

It’s my belief that if you work things like meal prep and cardio into your routine you won’t think about them consciously and they won’t seem like work to you. At least that’s what has worked for me, gradually adding aspects of weight loss made things a bit easier than going balls to the wall with it and cutting out all the things I loved. I still eat carbs, I still eat ice cream, I still eat burgers- all in moderation but it’s still something I can enjoy from time to time. Just tonight, Chris and I made calzone for dinner and it was absolutely delicious. Sure I used part skim mozzarella and turkey pepperoni instead of regular, but it was still a bit of a splurge. Because I ate well for my other meals I’m still under my calorie goal and within my macros, so I’m hopeful to lose weight when I get on the scale this week.

2016-07-30 01.06.00

I’m deliriously happy with the progress I’ve made in a year, but I want those last 10 pounds gone!

Maybe I’ll get lucky and break through this plateau finally and be closer to my goal of 165, but even if I don’t I will continue to count calories and workout and meal prep just as I am. If this last 15 months has taught me anything, it’s to never give up on the things that have made you better. All of these new aspects of my life have made me stronger, faster, better, than I’ve ever been and it’s important to stick to my guns even in the face of this stupid plateau. I believe that Commander Peter Quincy Taggart of Galaxy Quest said it best, “Never give up, never surrender!” If anyone out there has an experience with this, or even just some words of advice to get me through this plateau it would be greatly appreciated. I may have a weight loss blog, but I’m not perfect and appreciate advice!

kirk

“Never give up, never surrender!”

Leave a Reply

