Tuna Patties & 21 Day Fix Approved Chicken Enchiladas

Time for another couple of recipes on this week’s edition of Meal Prep Monday- this week I made tuna patties/burgers for my lunches and 21 Day Fix chicken enchiladas for dinner. Both of these are fairly low cal and high in protein. Each tuna burger is 230 calories with only 10g of fat and 24g of protein per serving, I served mine on a sandwich thin for an extra hundred calories. You could add tartar sauce or lemon if you so desire. Each serving of the chicken enchiladas is 530 calories at just 10g of fat and 57g of protein, I’ve been craving Mexican food lately and enchiladas are a personal favorite of mine so I was looking for a healthier recipe. In the past I’ve made a chicken enchilada casserole that was pretty good but I wanted the real thing, well a healthier version of the real thing. This one definitely satiated my craving! My tuna patties recipe can be found here, at Simply Recipes. The 21 Day Fix chicken enchiladas is courtesy of Burn This Mama Down- here.

I decided to start with the tuna patties first, as the recipe recommended I chill them for an hour before cooking, so that they stay together better. As usual, I slightly altered the ingredients in the recipe to suit me and recommend you do the same. In place of Dijon mustard (which I dislike), I used Ken’s lite honey mustard and instead of crumbling up white bread I used seasoned whole wheat bread crumbs (which I had on hand). I also skipped the part that suggested I saute the patties in olive oil and butter, instead just using the olive oil. After combining all of my ingredients and shaping the tuna into patties I let them chill in the fridge for an hour as I started prepping my enchiladas.

2017-03-05-14-07-22

These babies are ready to chilllllllllllllll (haha pretend I’m funny)

Seeing as how I want to keep the recipes separate, we won’t do things exactly chronologically in this write up. So skipping ahead by an hour, I heated up a tablespoon or so of olive oil in a medium-large skillet and put these patties in to cook.

2017-03-05-15-29-33

Let’s get cookin’, good lookin’ (I’ve got jokes) 

After 3 or so minutes on each side (and another tablespoon of olive oil before flipping) these patties were done and ready to be packed up for my lunches for the week. The recipe made 4 patties and seeing as how my Fridays tend to be a little off the cuff for meals , it was perfect to get me through the week. Plus when you have more than 5-6 servings of the same food in a week it starts to get a little monotonous.

2017-03-05-15-38-27

These patties are a little crispy, but for my first try not bad! 

Now on to the chicken enchiladas! First you’re going to need to preheat your oven to 350. The prep for this one takes a bit longer, as the recipe calls for the chicken breast to be already cooked and shredded. So I used a quick and easy method to cook the chicken with a southwest flair. I simmered 3 cups of chicken broth on the stove and added my 3 breasts as well as 2 bay leaves. I cooked the chicken for about 16 minutes- 8 on each side flipping them halfway through. Because cooking on the stove top isn’t always accurate I used a meat thermometer to check the internal temperature was 165 before I set them aside to shred. While I was waiting on the chicken to cook and cool, I combined the rest of the ingredients into a large bowl (15 oz of black beans, 2 cans Rotel 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt, and 2 tsp Mrs. Dash Southwest Seasoning) and after shredding the chicken I added to the bowl and mixed.

2017-03-05-15-15-11

I know, it doesn’t look very delicious now but wait- there’s more! 

Next we’re going to heat up our tortillas in the microwave for a bit so they are easier to handle. The ones I used were Mission “super size” white corn tortillas and I made a line of filling in the center and then rolled them up placing the seams down in the pan. After doing that 9 more times, you’ve got a full pan of enchiladas (or in my case 2). I used one large can of Old El Paso red enchilada sauce to cover them and then sprinkled about a cup and a half reduced fat Mexican cheese on top before placing them in the oven for 30 minutes.

2017-03-05-15-23-27

All 10 enchiladas, covered with sauce but pre-cheese. 

After 30 minutes in the oven, the chicken enchiladas were done cooking and ready to pack up for my dinners. Because as usual I used a larger amount of chicken than required (2.4 lbs instead of 2), I ended up with extra filling for the enchiladas so I just put them into each container along with 2 enchiladas. they fell apart a bit when packing up, but they don’t need to be pretty, just tasty.

2017-03-05-15-57-06

Fresh out of the oven, still looking pretty and smelling delicious. 

This week’s recipes were relatively easy to make and super delicious. As always, I’ll write up the recipes with my modifications below, if you decide to try either one out feel free to comment and talk about your experience. Happy prepping!

Tuna Patties 

4 servings – 230 calories each

Ingredients 

  • 12 oz. tuna (canned or bagged)
  • 2 teaspoons Ken’s lite honey mustard
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat bread crumbs
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 Tbsp lemon juice
  • 1 Tbsp water (or liquid from the tuna)
  • 2 Tbsp chopped fresh parsley
  • 2 Tbsp chopped green onion
  • Salt & ground pepper to taste
  • A couple squirts Crystal hot sauce
  • 1 egg raw
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil

Directions

  1. Drain tuna: Drain the liquid from the tuna cans. If you are using tuna packed in water, reserve a tablespoon of the tuna water, and add a teaspoon of olive oil to the tuna mixture in the next step.
  2. Mix tuna with mustard, bread, zest, lemon juice, water, parsley, chives, hot sauce, salt, pepper, egg: In a medium bowl, mix together the tuna, mustard, torn white bread, lemon zest, lemon juice, water, parsley, chives, and hot sauce. Sprinkle on salt and freshly ground black pepper. Taste the mixture before adding the egg to see if it needs more seasoning to your taste. Mix in the egg.
  3. Form into patties, chill: Divide the mixture into 4 parts. With each part, form into a ball and then flatten into a patty. Place onto a wax paper lined tray and chill for an hour. (You can skip the chilling if you want, chilling just helps the patties stay together when you cook them.)
  4. Sauté in skillet: Heat the olive oil and a little butter (for taste) in a cast iron or stick-free skillet on medium high. Gently place the patties in the pan, and cook until nicely browned, 3-4 minutes on each side.

21 Day Fix Approved Chicken Enchiladas 

5 servings – 530 calories each

Ingredients 

  • 3 chicken breasts (cooked and shredded as described above)
  • 15 oz. can of black beans (reduced sodium) – drained and rinsed
  • 2 cans Rotel tomatoes & diced green chilis (no salt added) – drained
  • 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt
  • 2 tsp Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle Seasoning
  • 10 corn tortillas
  • 1.5 cups reduced fat Mexican cheese
  • 1 large can Old El Paso red enchilada sauce

Directions 

  1. Preheat oven to 350.
  2. Combine chicken, beans, chilis, tomatoes, yogurt and seasoning in a large bowl.
  3. Heat tortillas in the microwave before assembling.
  4. Add chicken mixture to each tortilla, roll up, and place in baking dish seam side down.
  5. Pour enchilada sauce over enchiladas so that all of the tortillas are covered.
  6. Sprinkle evenly with cheese.
  7. Bake for 30 minutes.

IMG_0789

1 serving of the tuna patty – on a sandwich thin with some arugula and all 5 servings of enchiladas with the leftover filling. 

2 thoughts on “Tuna Patties & 21 Day Fix Approved Chicken Enchiladas”

Leave a Reply

